Hello, everybody!

If you got an e-mail or other invitation to this blog, then you know who I am and what I’m up to, and it’s great to have you here. I do have to request that you not use my real name in commenting, since I’m anonymizing the content as much as possible; I need to protect the privacy of my research subjects. Call me “Charlie.” If you came in “through the front door,” so to speak, let me fill you in on what’s going on. I’m a student at a small college in the Great Northwest, majoring in Environmental Studies, and this blog is part of my senior year project. I’m taking a year-long look at the American food system from a user’s point of view. I’m trying to answer the question of whether a busy, low-income family can transform its diet from the conventional, industrial-agriculture model to one that is more locally-sourced, and hopefully more sustainable. The family in question? Mine.

I started out specifically to examine the environmental impacts, both small-and large-scale, that this transformation would generate. I soon realized that the economic and social implications would be every bit as important, so I will take a long look at those as well. This project will last for at least the forthcoming school year, so I should have plenty of time and space to find out whether it is feasible for a poor family on a tight budget, without benefit of a garden or chickens or much else in the way of external resources, to dramatically localize their eating.

While I intend to keep this blog as on-topic as possible, I may post some of the other writing I’ve done on environmental issues while in school. I should be able to put that in a sidebar somewhere, so it doesn’t interfere with the topic at hand. I’m still finding my way around this blog site, so bear with me while I get settled in. And I’m sure I don’t have to remind anyone about keeping comments polite and on-topic, so I won’t even bother with that.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hello, everybody!

  1. Joyce says:

    I am looking forward to reading your work, as I am sure I can learn something that will help me as well. Good luck.

  2. Tami Green says:

    Sounds like a good project… always wanting to figure out how I can leave things better than I found them… that is what my mom always told me to do : )

  3. CJ says:

    I think this is a great idea for research and a fantastic learning opportunity for your kids. Can’t wait to read more! But really don’t dismiss easy backyard container gardening as an adjunt; I have a friend who grows mesclun nearly year round in Rubbermaid containers on her deck in Seattle, go figure!?…you’ve got the sunshine now to do it! All the best to you in your endeavor!

    • poorlocavore says:

      Container gardening is a possibility; there are community garden plots in town as well. Part of the project is to look at what’s feasible for us in our circumstances, and I’ll be researching those options. Nice to have you here!

  4. madelincwolf says:

    I applaud your efforts and can imagine what your days must be like trying to keep it all together as a SAHD and get a degree. At one time I was a single parent with three kids going to a university on the west coast. I can remember many a month’s end when I would have to float a check to be able to buy food. (Way back in the distant past when checks took several days to post!) Oh, and here’s some “food for thought.” Check out “The China Study” by T. Colin Campbell, PhD. and Thomas M. Campbell II, billed as ” The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted,” on the cover. You may find it interesting. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

