First Day of School

Good day, everyone, and welcome to Fall quarter. I have an interesting situation confronting me as I begin my examination of the footprint of my family’s diet: $20 left in the grocery budget, with a week to go before the funds are replenished. Mind you, this is for a family of five: dad, mom, and three boys, grades 4-8. I realized that I needed to take stock of what we have and figure out how to make it work. I also realized that it was the perfect opportunity to set a baseline for the project.

A good research project needs a baseline, and this is no exception. What I’ll do, then, is conduct a ‘census’ of the kitchen to find out what we have and where it came from. I intend to develop a metric for determining the ecological impact of a given food item, factoring in place of origin, means of production, mode of travel, and so forth. From there I will take the distance-traveled of the food and derive an average radius for the whole shopping cart, so to speak. This is the number I will try to reduce over the year. Washington apples may offset Wisconsin cheese, but will it be enough? Besides, they make cheese in Oregon.

Meanwhile, I have to plan breakfast and dinner for the week from what’s on hand, plus some infill of bread and milk (remember the three boys? They’d eat nothing but cereal if I let them). A quick look around the office kitchen tells me there’s plenty here if I can figure out how to put it together, and I’m pretty sure I can do that.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Day of School

  1. Pingback: Week 1 in Review: The $20+Pantry Challenge | The Poor Locavore

Leave a Reply

