Week 1 in Review: The $20+Pantry Challenge

Good morning. Last week proved to be an interesting one. As previously noted , last week’s meals had to come out of what we had on hand and $20 left in our grocery budget. Here’s how it looked.

As you can see, we pulled through rather well. Friday night was a little tricky, as Dear Wife and I had to go out and buy a new printer cartridge. It was after 6 pm by the time we left, and everyone was getting hungry. Fortunately, there is a locally-based burger chain near the Office Box which runs a Family Deal: five cheeseburgers and a tub of fries for $10. Yes, we’d like that, please, and five cups of water.

Otherwise, we more or less made it in under the wire. I bought two gallons of milk and two loaves of bread which tided us over until Sunday, when our grocery account was replenished. We also bought about $5 worth of snacks for our picnic lunch on Saturday. I have to say, though, that taking a thorough inventory of what we had for food in the house was a very important step in a number of ways. Obviously, establishing a baseline was necessary if I’m going to measure the distance our groceries travel, then try to reduce that distance. I’m planning to map the zip codes as well in order to better see the patterns of distance and distribution. But more than that, I don’t think I really knew what was in there. I had boxes of risotto! I have brown rice and a whole frozen chicken! I wonder how much of our previous grocery shopping was just filling in the surface gaps with the things we’re accustomed to eating.

P.S. I just found a whole drawer full of “flat food”-bags of dried beans, packets of smoked salmon, and yes-more lentils!-so I’ll have to update that inventory.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in Budget, Inventory, Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

