Disappointment

I was so excited about biking over to the next town to get groceries this morning! I’d been itching to get out and ride for a few days, and I really want to be more deliberate about Doing the Right Thing and Being Excellent and so on. Well, you know what they say about the best-laid plans of mice and so forth? That’s pretty much what happened.

Problem #1 was that I spent the early morning getting everybody else up and off to school. Making a good breakfast for all, packing a lunch for My Dear Wife, taking the dogs out and back in again, clean socks for The Youngest One, a coat for Number One Son…I had hoped to leave by 9:30, but when 9:00 found me in my jim-jams, just getting to check my e-mail, that hope quietly withered and died.

Problem #2 was The List. I wasn’t happy with it. (I still don’t have a finished menu for the week.) Was it complete? Too much? Not enough? Don’t know. Then my itinerary: The Co-op? (No.) Safeway? (Yes.) Dollar store? (Yes.) Auto Parts? (Yes!) That meant a route change, and a different setup, and more wasted time.

Problem #3 was that both our motor vehicles were running very badly, and I knew that I had to deal with that because we were going to a school event tonght. Should I try to fix them first, then go shopping? What if it takes too long? The weather’s not very good right now; I’d rather ride in this than fix cars…more indecision and wasted time.

Problem #4 was the weather. What’s it gonna be? What do I wear? I need to be cozy, but not smothered, and will it rain more, or clear up…? Arrgh.

I finally left home around 10:30, and got to Safeway about 11. Still racked with indecision and lacking a price book, I frittered about the store like a caffeinated hamster, finally realizing I wasn’t going to have time to go all the way to the next town and back and getting mad at myself for botching the job.

I wound up buying what seems like $60 worth of different forms of starch. Dinner tonight was pizza delivery, and I still have only a vague idea as to what’s on the menu for the rest of the week. Oh, and our food account is down to about three dollars, with a week to go in the month-assuming The Agency gets my recertification form by Friday.

Wish me luck, because I think I’m going to need some.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in Project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Disappointment

  1. captiv8ed says:

    Good thing you have that Yankee stubbornness…

  2. Strange this post is totaly unrelated to what I was searching google for, but it was listed on the first page. I guess your doing something right if Google likes you enough to put you on the first page of a non related search.

  3. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also.
    Keep working ,great job!

  4. webdesign says:

    Hey pretty great blog!! Man .. Stunning .. Remarkable .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds
    also…

Leave a Reply

