In All the Excitement…

…over the maps I had forgotten to post last week’s menu. So, without further ado, here it is:

 

Close inspection will reveal some interesting information. First of all, you can almost tell from here when we went grocery shopping-right after the second oatmeal breakfast of the week. Also, consider Thursday night’s dinner. Granted, it was quick and tasty, especially with a generous infusion of cracked black pepper, but that’s definitely a “what do I have to work with?” meal (and thanks Cassie for the idea.) I’m going to institute a more rigid structure for the weekly menu; if not quite the same dish every time, at least the same general idea, like:

Monday: Oatmeal/Chicken
Tuesday: Eggs/Pasta
Wednesday: Bagels/Lentils

…or whatever. This will streamline everything from planning through shopping to prep and cooking, giving me more time to do other things.  By the way, breakfast is getting a little monotonous and oatmeal doesn’t seem to have the staying power it should, so I’m open to some good suggestions there as well.

Finally, I’m going to work some on formatting these menus better, as I don’t find them terribly easy to read. I’ve been writing them with a nice little word processing program called Jarte, so I’ll have to see what I can do with that.

Oh, and Happy Veteran’s Day. If you see one, thank them for me.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in menu, Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In All the Excitement…

  1. Try making a big batch of breakfast burritos on the weekend and freeze individually wrapped in tin foil. Then throw in the toaster oven for about 10 minutes in the morning on bake and they are ready to go. You can do a variety of contents from veg to ham to eggs to potatoes (a cheap filler). I always add a bit of beans and cheese. These will stick with you because of the protein.

    • poorlocavore says:

      That’s an interesting idea, too. I’d have to modify it a little, since we don’t have a taster-oven and I’m reluctant to crank up the big oven for light duty. Maybe wax paper and the microwave? Are the potatoes pre-cooked? It’s got possibilities.

  2. Cassie says:

    So you made your “go to” list, or a variation thereon?

    I’m big on peanut butter right now. The natural stuff on a whole wheat bagel. That seems to sustain everyone right through lunch usually.

    Sorry to have missed so many posts. I’ve got some catching up to do!

Leave a Reply

