Breakfast Update Update

I made a modified batch of SCOs (steel-cut oats) for this morning, adding powdered milk, diced apples, cinnamon, and brown sugar. IT WAS GOOD, although I need to work on the execution a bit. Cinnamon doesn’t mix well into liquid, and it winds up floating on top. Next time I think I’ll mix the cinnamon and sugar together separately, then toss the apple pieces in that mixture, like I do for the apple crisp. Maybe I’ll dissolve the powdered milk in the water first before I add it to the oats and apples. Anyway, I had a serving with plain yogurt and felt quite full; still do. The Youngest didn’t like it, to no one’s great surprise; Number One Son ate most of his, saying it was “all right;” and The Middle Child had seconds, so I think we’re on the right track.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Breakfast Update Update

  1. Momof5 says:

    Yum! Sounds fabulous!

    There’s so much you can do with oatmeal, too, if that turns out to be a good, local, inexpensive choice for a base material, you can still avoid monotony. I make it into granola (the pecans aren’t exactly local, but when a good friend in Georgia sends them as a gift they count, right?) or put it in cookies – makes cookies into breakfast food because even with chocolate chips they’re lower in sugar than packaged cereal. Plus what kid is going to object to a few cookies as an in-the-backpack snack? Not mine.

    You can even use leftover oatmeal in waffles: once you get to the end of the week, if there’s some still sitting in the fridge, I stir it into packaged mix along with any complementary flavors: applesauce, cinnamon, nutmeg, syrup, whatever, plus melted butter (more fat than the package suggests usually – our mix calls for oil – to make up for the added heavy ingredients) and as much water/milk/buttermilk as it takes to make a recognizable consistency. They take about twice as long on the waffle maker as plain batter, but they don’t usually take extra syrup and they freeze beautifully.

    I’ve found that the plain bulk oats from our high-priced neighborhood natural foods store are cheaper by far than anything bagged on the cereal aisle, but I don’t know how local they are. Any idea where yours come from?

  2. Sounds delicious. Were you doing them overnight again? You could throw in a cinnamon stick and avoid the powder issue (that is annoying). And two out of three is pretty darned good–nice going!

    • poorlocavore says:

      Momof5, I can buy bulk rolled oats at our co-op for 65c. per pound, and organic for 95c. per pound. I’ll find out where they’re from on my next visit, probably Friday. The breakfast cookie idea sounds good; I could make them in a 9 x 13 pan. Margaret, yes on the overnight method. I like the cinnamon stick idea. I tried to make arroz con leche overnight a while ago, but it failed badly. Onward through the fog…

  3. Cassie says:

    I mix in dry ingredients after the oatmeal is cooked. Sugar, spices, milk powder…those should dissolve nicely in a creamy bowl of oatmeal!

  4. Cassie says:

    It sounds delicious, by the way. I’m going to try it tomorrow!

  5. Sam Young says:

    Charlie,
    I grew up to age 12 on a Maine subsistance farm during the depression. And from there grew up poor during wwII and after to age 17. I didn’t realize we were poor until my brother and I had a conversation a while after we both retired from the world of work.
    I think we didn’t know we were poor cause we never missed a meal: Our parents
    had a good imagination and used interesting names for very common meals. My father cooked a “cowboy breakfast” which consisted of beans and bacon and toast.
    My mother cooked a dinner called “Red flannel hash” which was fried potatoes laced with diced beets; and another was “Bubble & Squeak” Later called “New England Boiled Dinner” after we left Maine. And there were many soup dishes with corn bread or bisquits; Also there were many pasta dishes (sometimes simply buttered macaronie (sp)).
    We also ate lots of oatmeal and “corn meal mush” flavored with Brown Sugar, Honey or Maple Syrup and sometime flavored with dried fruit such as raisins, prunes, appricots, and sometimes figs. Or sometimes topped with fresh fruit in season.
    You can call me “Bert”

  6. Pingback: Cracking the Pancake Code | The Poor Locavore

Leave a Reply

