Break Time…

I realized the other day that I hadn’t written anything here in a while, and I want to address that-especially since I know I have some new readers and subscribers. (And thank you all, by the way!) This blog is, among other things, part of my college curriculum for the year. I go to a wonderfully unconventional school where students are allowed and even encouraged to pursue knowledge within the context of their abilities, passions, and personal context. This has given me the freedom to be both a full-time student and a stay-at-home dad, but it comes within the constraints of an academic year.

Here in the final weeks of the fall quarter, I have been working on the more functional, nuts-and-bolts aspects of academia: I have to write a self-evaluation for my course and an updated contract proposal for next quarter, as well as making sure my financial aid ducks are in a row. I’m also applying to graduate school for next fall, and have to write a Statement of Purpose for that application. Meanwhile, there is Christmas shopping to do, cars to be repaired, middle school band concerts and teacher conferences to attend…you know the drill.

So, I might be laying low for a few weeks and not posting here very much while I get these other things squared away. Rest assured, though, that I’m working on some good stuff for next quarter: a long essay on affordability which will go up as a companion to the “What do you mean by ‘local’?” piece;  more product tracking and ingredient analysis; field trips to our local food bank, a nearby food desert, and a nameless Big Box Store; more about oatmeal– ’cause who doesn’t want to read about that, right?–and I may even write about squirrels.

I get e-mail alerts for comments here, so keep in touch by commenting-or you can e-mail: poorlocavore@gmail.com.

 

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in Project and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Break Time…

  1. captiv8ed says:

    Enjoy your break! Look forward to reading more of your adventures in the coming months.

  2. Jessie says:

    I know how that is! Good luck getting everything done! Look forward to hearing from you when everything is back under control 🙂

Leave a Reply

