A Further Dairy Day Update

I’m all over the map this week, I know. There’s just so much going on! Remember Lucy and Ethel in the chocolate factory? That’s how I feel right now. Anyway, I remembered the other day that I had gotten updated information about Washington State Dairy Day and the Safeway ice cream that was served.

I ended up e-mailing the Washington Dairy Products Commission, and received a prompt reply from Lynne, the director of communications. She wrote:

“I am sure you will be happy to know that Safeway does make ice cream locally: ice cream is produced at the Safeway ice cream plant in Bellevue, Washington. Fortunately, I have had the opportunity to visit that plant and know from firsthand experience that their attention to quality is unwavering; thus, they provide a topnotch, delicious product, made locally, for our enjoyment.”

and,

“…pretty much all the milk and dairy products on the grocery store shelves is from cows right here in Washington State.”

Well, I was happy to find that out. Still, I wondered why the smaller, craft vendors weren’t represented at the event, to which Lynne responded:

“When dairy organizations sponsor events, such as Dairy Day, logistics always enter into the formula of realizing a successful event. It usually comes down to the most convenient way to provide a large amount of product – in this instance it resulted in the purchase of Safeway brand ice cream.”

Which does make sense. Scaling an event of that magnitude would require logistics of production and delivery which would favor, if not require, a well-oiled machine to deliver. I’m still going to go here for this whenever I can.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in local and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

