Food Waste, Week 2

I tallied up 12.4 lbs. of food waste from last week, up from the 10.1 lbs. of the week before. I think that much of the difference is due to pineapple and melon rinds from fruit we had bought for a fondue party-that’s right, we fondue and you can too!-we had for My Dear Wife’s birthday. We do have a proper compost bin now, made from a spare 30-gallon rubber trash can. That’s the one we took out of service when we realized we were only using one can per week for garbage, and cut our bill down accordingly.

We’re looking into “lasagna gardening” as a way to build a fertile bed fairly quickly, but I’ve got some clearing to do on the garden site before we can start to prepare the spot. I also need to learn what grows well around here. I’m told that in our area, the growing season begins fairly late-like Memorial Day-so I think I’ve got some time to figure it out.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in compost, garden, Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

