Crossroads

This blog began, as you may recall,  as part of my “Independent Learning Contract” for a college degree. Well, the contract has been successfully concluded. I got full credit and a glowing evaluation. Now what?

I wrote a summary report for my professor/adviser, which I’m going to edit and post here. After that, though, I need to decide a few things. First of all, I need a new contract idea for fall quarter. Then I need to set a direction for this blog. If I’m studying some other issue in depth, which I can easily foresee, I don’t think that I’ll be able to maintain focus here on food issues. At the same time, I need to keep writing; it’s my main vehicle for sifting, sorting, and assembling my thoughts. I’ve got several pages of travel notes to transcribe and post as well, though I may spin the travelogue off into another blog.

All this is to say that I am going to change direction somewhat in the days and weeks ahead. The general themes will still hover around people and the environment, and I will try to emphasize what is happening in my immediate backyard of the Inland Northwest. I think it’s vitally important for folks to develop an affinity for their geographic neighborhood, though in this “flat” modern world it is increasingly difficult to do. I’ve also touched on several interesting ideas in this blog, tangential to the central premise, that are worthy of further investigation. Of course, everything is connected somehow, and those connections are worth exploring too.

It seems I’ve got quite a bit on my plate, as usual. And, as usual, the hard part is choosing where to begin.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crossroads

  1. Easy Listener says:

    According to your cluster map, you’re ideas have touch the imagination of many people. I am looking forward to your conclusions, as well as to your future explorations.

  2. Brett says:

    Sir-
    I’ve enjoyed following this thoroughly.
    Maybe I’ll see you all at the gardens next year, mucking around with the rest of us novices.
    -B

Leave a Reply

