A Tale of Two Outings, Part Three: False Start

After I saw the young bull moose calmly stroll past me that afternoon on Kamiak Butte, I figured the day could get no better and I should head back to the world. I lingered a few minutes, vainly trying to see where my ungulate friend had gone, but he had slipped around and into the woods. I gathered my gear, zipped up my jacket, and started back the way I had come. It was 1:40 pm and I congratulated myself on my good planning.

There are two paths to the summit; or rather one path that loops, providing two ways to go. I had thought of taking the longer back way down through the forest on the north side, but reasoned that it would be icy and dicey. I also wanted to get back sooner rather than later, and though the shorter southern route meant backtracking, it made more sense due to the time and conditions. I happened upon the trail of the moose, tagging along well behind him for a while. Again, I made an effort to leave as little trace of my passing as possible. Hopping from one bare patch of stone to another and skirting the snow engaged a part of my brain that seemed glad for the work.

All was well for a time, as the afternoon sun hung on the slope and I strode along the path. I made some delightful discoveries, like “The Three Amigos”:

Los Tres Amigos

and an astonishing structure whose purpose remains unclear to me:

What...the...heck...?

It stood nearly as tall as I, probably 10 feet (3m) across one of the bases, and was obviously a constructed thing. A small, ground-level opening on one face could have let  person crawl in, were they to push their pack in ahead of themselves. But I saw no artifacts, no tools or equipment, no evidence of use at all-save for its very presence. But (the eternal question) why? An emergency shelter? I gazed north across the plain and saw Kamiak’s neighbor, Steptoe Butte, straight ahead of me; due south lay the dark mass of the Wallowa Mountains. I couldn’t help but notice how very dry the wood was, and how deliberately it had been laid there, and I realized that if one were to light this mass on fire, two things would happen: first, it would burn for hours, if not all day; second, it would be visible for miles, and from the peaks both to its north and to its south. Was that it, then? A signal pyre, laid in readiness for some pre-radio disaster? Thus I named the spot Beacon Hill, if only in my mind.

On I went from there, flagging a bit but still in good spirits, looking to pick up the path on the other side. It soon began to dawn on me that I was not going back the way I had come. I was headed in the right direction, but the terrain was all wrong:

It's different here...

I was on the verge of the forest, not down in the hillside prairie. I went on further, hoping to see a cairn or other familiar landmark, but found instead a fence. A FENCE? Yes, a fence. Now I agree with the poet that “good fences make good neighbors,” but they are not exactly what one wants to see when trying to follow a trail that had not crossed a fence on the way in. I followed the fence north as far as I could, which wasn’t very far at all, into dense and denser woods; no way through there. I then went south, hoping to intersect the path, but I saw ahead of me only more fence and a wheat field. Here I will quote the brief, but cogent, passage I jotted down in my notebook at that moment:

2:50 OFF TRAIL

Mind you, I wasn’t lost-as such. I knew pretty much where I was. I could see the main road and a farm house from where I stood, and knew I was 12 miles north of where I lived. So “lost” would not be quite an accurate description of my status then. Of course, I was neither where I thought I was nor where I should have been, so that was a bit problematic. Neither was I quite sure of how to get from where I was (and arguably not supposed to be) to where I wanted (and arguably was supposed to) be. A dilemma, to be sure, but not quite lost per se, I told myself. I had become, and not for the first time, “spatially displaced.”

All of which merely begged the question, “Now what?” I paused to take stock of my situation. Half a liter of water; half of a Clif bar; a few squares of chocolate; pocketknife; whistle; first-aid kit; binoculars; nylon running pants; mylar “space blanket”; spare pair of socks; matches; a few hard candies; and a well-charged cell phone. Not much by my standards, but enough to work with for the moment. No map, though. Won’t let that happen again. I drank some water, ate some chocolate, and considered my options.

Next: Long Way ‘Round


About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in local, maps, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Tale of Two Outings, Part Three: False Start

  1. Joyce says:

    Nice pictures, but what a tease!

  2. Jacque says:

    Spatially displaced! lol

Leave a Reply

