Shave and a Haircut…Part 2

In our last episode, the hero’s trusty one-dollar vintage electric hair clipper had just bit the big one right at the onset of a DIY haircut, leaving behind some unfinished business- a mop of locks about to spin out of control!  What was he to do?

Its been said that when the going gets tough, the tough go shopping. I had been in one of our favorite local thrift shops just a few days before and remembered seeing some electric hair clippers, so it seemed a logical first place to check. I brought two of the attachments from the old Wahl to check for compatibility, but they didn’t fit either clipper I saw. I kept poking around, hoping to find another, and soon enough I did. Though the Wahl attachments didn’t fit, this one came with its own set, usefully sized:

A full set

Not bad for $4, eh? From there it was short work (no pun intended) to get home and finish what I’d started.

How much savings is that over the years? At the rate my hair grows and the length I like to keep it, I was going to the barber about once a month for a trim. At $10 per visit, that’s:

$120 per year x 12 years = $1440. Just for me, never mind the boys.

Plus, I could give myself a haircut whenever I needed to-morning, evening, late night, what-have-you. With my odd schedule over the last several years, that has been a huge bonus feature. So, I can keep doing as I have been, except for the occasional re-touch for special circumstances like job interviews. As much as I would like to be able to contribute to my local economy by paying a trained professional to perform this task, the DIY method is just working too well for me right now to abandon it.

About poorlocavore

Welcome to one family's journey towards a smaller food-mile footprint on a small food budget. How do our choices affect the environment, and what influences our choices? Read on and find out what I'm learning.
This entry was posted in grooming, Project, thrift and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

